DIY Avocado Hair Mask

It’s Avocado Season.

avocado seasoooon

It’s avocado season! It’s here people! Avocado season also called storm season; also known as too many hurricane and storm passing by Puerto Rico in a season season. You know how old people like our grandparents always have these sayings like if the sky is white it means a thunderstorm is coming, or is you see a black butterfly it means someone will die or if you dream your pregnant that means someone close to you is pregnant. No? Not really? Only in Puerto Rico? Okay. Well some of these sayings are so random and makes no sense and obviously some of us think we know better because we live in a moment in history when science can explains so much. Then what they said actually happens and its scary as heck! Well it has happened to me with all of the mentioned before including one I didn’t mention… When the mango and avocados trees starts producing lots of fruits it means a storm or hurricane is coming.

water on the avoadoWell that happened both my mango and avocado tree were full of fruits and then hurricanes and storms were coming and passing very closed to Puerto Rico. The last one, storm Erika, actually left rain and wind which led to mangoes and avocados falling from the tree while they were still small and not ripe yet. I know lots of you guys love avocados specially on your food but on not one of those kind of person. I like avocado specially because it’s so healthy but I prefer it in my hair. Yes! You are reading that right I like avocados like I like my deep condition in my hair. Exactly for the same reason that I like the deep condition because it leaves my hair looking amazing and so soft and also I don’t have to worry about a bunch of chemicals I can’t pronounce or recognize being tested on animals. Also some of my favorite childhood memories is my sister making avocado hair mask and putting it on my hair. It was always so much fun and relaxing. The weird looking mask, the funny yet weirdly appetizing smell and how conditioned my hair look afterward. This is especially great for those who don’t like to eat avocados because even though it’s better for your hair to eat it if you don’t like it, I didn’t as a kid, well you might as well get closest results you can get this way.

Here is what you need:

  1. One ripe avocado. The ripest one you can find but that is not going bad yet.
  2. One or two tablespoon (TBSP) of Olive oil or any of your choice. The original recipe by my sister uses mayonnaise but since I don’t use mayonnaise for this one I used a mix of olive and coconut oil.
  3. A bowl and a fork.
  4. A shower cap.
  5. Clothes you don’t mind dirtying.

Here is what you need to do:

  1. First put on the clothes that you don’t mind getting dirty.
  2. Take the ripe avocado and start scooping it in a bowl. Make sure to not get the skin or seed in the bowl.avocado scooping
  3. Smash like it with the fork like you’re making guacamole and add the olive oil.
  4. Mix it all together until the avocado and oil becomes one and the consistency is like a very think, sometimes lumpy, cream. I don’t know how else describe it.
  5. Start taking the mix with your hands and putting it in your hair starting from the ends and going all the way to the roots. Take your time or you’ll make a huge mess.
  6. When you’re done clip your hair up and put on the shower cap. Leave it for 20 to 30 minutes and in the meantime watch some Netflix, study or have an Avocado Dance Party. vocadodancepart
  7. When the time is done just wash your hair like you normally would.

Let me know in a comment down below what do you think of the hair mask. This one is one of my favorite mask every because of how soft and moisturized it leaves my hair. Also its fun to create. If you make it take a picture and upload it to Instagram or twitter with the hashtag #SpaTimeWithJaneB or tag me in my instagram. Have a relaxing day or night. See you soon.

XOXO Jane B.

Responder

