My book list of 2015

 

large-2.jpg
via Weheartit.com

This past year has been a very busy year and I haven’t read as much as I would love to but still I wanted to share what I read this year and how I feel about it now. I say now because I feel like at the moment you’re so high from just finishing the book that you can’t think rationally. So now I will be rating these books and choosing my top 10.

I made my own rating legend because this is what the stars actually mean to me.

________________________________________________

My rating 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Loved it, loved it, loved it!

★ ★ ★ ★ liked/loved it a lot!

★ ★ ★ liked it.

★ ★ eh! It wasn’t the best.

★ not good!

☆ HATE IT!!

________________________________________________

Okay. Let’s start this.

I’m not doing this in order just because I can’t remember the order I read it.

51uZpbbhvmL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Via Amazon.com

Aristotle and Dante Discovers the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire 

This book was amazing. I loved it. I was not expecting to love it because the title turned me off and I had no idea what was it about, but since I promised to read it well I did. I must tell you something if you haven’t read this book you go now and buy it and read it. This book is amazing and I LOVED the audiobook. This is one of my favorite books.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Get it in Spanish here

41yMNepSxpL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Via Amazon.com

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

This one I got because of curiosity and because I had some audible credits to use. This one, like Aristotle and Dante I really thought I wasn’t going to like it but I did. I really, really enjoy this book. This is definitely one of my favorites of 2015 but even if the ending was realistic I wasn’t very fond of it and since she decided not to write the second book I have to give it…

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

Get it in Spanish here.

 

10987468_344396115751732_5871295134017898784_n-1
Picture by Jeannette Breeze

Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Still Alice is not the typical book I read. I am such a judgmental person when it comes to books and I was so curious to read it, but at the same time I felt worried that I wasn’t going to like it but I did. I loved it. This book opened my eyes and made me see the world a whole different way. I couldn’t stop talking about it. Heck, I annoyed the heck out of everyone telling them about the books and quotes. I loved it. There’s a movie, which is really good, but like most of the time is not nearly as good as the book. Still the book is a must read and the movie is a must watch.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Get it in Spanish here

Get the movie here

 

514p+UDC4BL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

DUFF (designated ugly fat friend) by Kody Keplinger

I read this book because I was curious, but I was actually embarrassed to be seen reading it because I though it was going to be stupid. Again, I am really judgmental with books. I judge with covers and tittle and synopsis and I’m not ashamed. Maybe a little. Still, I stopped being ashamed when I 11024622_347204368804240_6040012710169962374_nsaw what it really was about and then I fell in love with it. I laughed and cried and most importantly hated the movie. I do. I hate the movie. Ps I got a sweatshirt that in big black letter said “I am someone’s DUFF” I loved the book and the reflection and the end. I just felt so touched. It was amazing. Don’t let the synopsis, cover or title fool you (much less the movie) this book is a must read.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Get it in Spanish here

Get the movie here 

Get the sweatshirt here

 

51MITeDsQlL._SX389_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

 

Humans of New York: Stories by Brandon Stanton

I have followed the blog Humans of New York for a couple of years and I’m obsessed. I have it so whenever he posts is the first thing I see on my Newsfeed. This being said I was excited to see his book was on special. I ordered the books and in two sitting I went through it all. I obsessively took it everywhere and would bother the hell out of my family showing them images and quotes. So it’s okay to say I love it BUT it does bother the way certain photos and quotes are set up. Still…

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

41-NcdNDtQL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

Matched by Ally Condie

I started reading Matched when I was in High School. My class would have an hour certain Fridays where we would go to the library and read. So one day I discovered Matched but couldn’t finish it because class ended for the year and then I switched schools. So I was excited to find someone selling on Facebook. So I bough the first and second because I was so sure I was going to love it. I didn’t. The story wasn’t terrible, but it felt ripped off from The Giver. Also, you knew what was going to happen before you even started the book. I was not surprised and I enjoyed it but got bored along the way. I finished it, but I’m not sure if I can handle reading the second book. Sorry Matched lovers I tried to love it, but I couldn’t.

My rating: ★ ★

Get it in Spanish here

51a5h1OlkvL-1._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

The Heir by Kiera Cass

I love the selection series. I LOVE IT. It’s one of my favorite series so I was very excited for the new book. I know a lot of people hate the book. They were expecting –SPOILER ALERT IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST THREE America’s daughter to be exactly like her but I’m glad she’s not. It makes her different and realistic. Do you seriously believe that a girl raised in the palace knowing she will be queen one day is going to act as humble as America. No, of course not. Is expected of her to act like this when she was taught her whole life that she was going to be Queen.- END OF SPOILER ALERT- This being said I love her. She’s real and annoying just like America. I love America, but she drives me crazy. So I loved the book and I finished it with a big smile in my face ready for the second. Still, I must say I didn’t love it like I did the others.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

Get it in Spanish here

41VTPDCAq5L._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Via Amazon.com                                               PS this one is my favorite cover.

 

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen is one of those books you look for everywhere and are desperate, so as soon as you find it you buy it only to find out in amazon the Hardcover version is cheaper than your paperback one. I was so excited to read it that I got it from a Walmart in a touristy area and it amazon it was A LOT CHEAPER. Okay, let’s talk about the story. This book is amazing. I loved it. It reminded me a lot of a mix of the selection and for some reason Hunger Games but I do feel like you knew what was going to happen since the beginning. Well, not everything like with Matched I still had a moment I was like “oh my plot twist!” still I loved it. I really did and I don’t understand how can someone hate it? I’m so excited for the next book and, for the novella. If only I had enough money to buy every book I ever wanted.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Get it in spanish here

41olNuC5GjL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

Just One Day by Gayle Forman

I was dying to read this book for a while when I first saw it on Amazon. It was for such a good price I couldn’t say no so I got the first and second. I loved the book. I really did. It sucked me in and put me on a rollercoaster of emotion. I loved their story even if it sometimes seems hard to believe that it happen in a day. I mean talk about long days. I recommend reading it. I’m not the biggest fan of Allyson but I recommend the book.

My rating: ★ ★ ★

Get it in Spanish here

41p-TUCzpaL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

Veinte poemas de amor y una canción desesperada/cien sonetos de amor by Pablo Neruda

I love Pablo Neruda. Ever since I discovered him in middle school and studied him in High School I have fallen in love with his poems. I bough this book from a guy in my college and I discovered the previous owner had written a love letter to the girl he was in love with and gave it to her as a present. He underlined lines and marked poems for her reading and it made me even more in love with it. I am in love with my copy and the best part is that its from the 80’s and it even has the man’s phone number. I love how poems can help you tell someone how you feel even when you feel like that person leaves you speechless. I would recommend this book of poems to everyone, even if you’re not a poetry person.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Get the books in English:

Veinte poemas de amor y una canción desesperada

Cien sonetos de amor

51sM1hba9OL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amzon.com

La asesina de Lady Di.

I am going to be honest, this book is just plain weird. This book is about a girl obsessed with Ricky Martin back when he was in Menudo and just a recount of her life and as you can see in the title the murdered of Lady DI.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

51S4jnENImL._SX315_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

The Night Buffalo: A Novel

This follows the story of Manuel a college student who just discovered that his best friend committed suicide. His death makes Manuel guilty as he has been having an affair with Gregorio’s girlfriend. This book I don’t know how to describe it without spoiling it. The book is good like I loved it. A must read. I read it in Spanish, but it’s also available in English. I got to say this is one of the books I was most surprised about how much I enjoyed it. I recommend seeing the movie after reading the book to see things from a 3rd point of view instead of Manuel’s perspective. The movie was written by the author and even though it has a few changes seeing the movie and reading the book will make you question the book and the narrator. The movie is rated R and for good reasons.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★

Get Spanish version

Adelaida recupera su peluche por Jean Carlos Quiñones

This is a short, diminutive book that can be read in a sitting, literally, it’s really short and it follows the night of this girl. Since this is so diminutive I can’t really say much without spoiling it and sadly I can’t give you a link because it’s only sold in one specifically book store. Still, I loved it, is by a

10436247_387649101426433_5200808152331766132_n
picture with the author

Puerto Rican author and also I’m excited because he signed my book and when he learned that I was going to take german he wrote me a message in german. Bless his soul! He’s amazing. If you’re in Rio Piedras by the UPR go to the book store and get his book.

My rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

 

 

 

41kmTP5C7XL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

Vanishing Girl

I’m going to be completely honest, I apologize to my best friend who got me this book for my birthday, but this book was not good. I’m sorry for the author, but I didn’t like it and it was tough for me to make myself read it. I’m glad I did because the amazing, perfect and unexpected plot twist in the end made it all worth it. Just because of how amazing and unexpected is that plot twist I’m going to give it an extra star. . I know in my post of favorite I put it, but it was only because at the moment I was enjoying but in the middle when it started involving some things that didn’t make sense and made me bored well then they lost me. Here’s my rating.

My rating: ★ ★ ★

 

Now I’m going to write about the book I couldn’t love or hate because I couldn’t finish it.

51xgGEKd6oL._SX315_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Miss Peregrine home for peculiar children

Lot’s of people told me this book was good and that I should get it. I was intrigued by the beautiful pictures and the cover so I did. I was so excited to read this book that I started reading straight away, but I’m sorry to announce that it bored me so much that I stopped and months later I haven’t had the need to continue it. Now the book lay sadly in my bookshelf with the cover, it’s hardcover, marking the page when I stopped and didn’t continue. I think it was worth buying the book just because of the amazing pictures and maybe one day I’ll finish it. I’m waiting for the moment of courage to give the book another try and I hope I’ll look back and ask myself “Was I crazy because this book is amazing?” but so far I’m not interested.

Get it in Spanish

 

41DMCWlQdNL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

An abundance of Katherines

I know a lot of people aren’t fans of John Green’s books but I am. I love Paper Town, Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars and I was kind of enjoying the book. I bough this book when I was travelling to the Dominican Republic because I always have to buy a book when I travel it’s like an adventure inside the vacation. I was actually enjoying it. I mean I wasn’t hooked like with other books, but I was enjoying it, but then classes started and I didn’t have enough motivation to finish it so I didn’t. I know I’m going to finish it, but the question is a matter of when.

Get it in Spanish

As you can see I have a hard time continuing to read books that don’t hook me in but this will not stop me from continuing to give books a second chance.

 

large-1.jpg

 What were some of your favorites, least favorites and books you just couldn’t finish on 2015? Let me know in a comment below.

 

Responder

