Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Review

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

— Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

I finished book #1 of the reading challenge. I decided to start with a book that has more than 400 pages so I used Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I was checking up on the statistic and many of you have completed one or more of the books for the challenge. Way to go! Don’t forget when you finish one to go and vote for which one you finished. I like seeing which one you find more interesting.

51AB5fix3UL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
via Amazon.com

Before I start the review I’m going to share the synopsis from amazon.

“In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world” from amazon.

This book guys. I did not expect to love this book so much. This book grabbed me from the very beginning, but when I was half way done it

7896527.jpg
via Goodreads.com

 

really transported me to another dimension. One where all of these are real and all of this is happening and I’m like an omnipotent bird in the sky. I love it. I loved it so much that I bough the novella and the next book as soon as I was done. Ps the novella has more pages than the book. I can’t say this enough, I love her.

I just I’m trying to find words to give my review without spoiling. Okay, Celaena is a notorious assassin, the most famous one. She is sent to death camps in which she has to work until she dies, most people dies in months of being there, but she has been there for a year when the price goes over there and offers her a deal. The king has decided he needs an assassin and because he’s the king and his life is boring* he decided to hold a competition and everyone can sponsor a competitor. is asked by the prince to be the one he sponsor and offers her the chance of getting her freedom back if she wins and works for his father, the King, for four years. Of course she’s going to take it because she will not allow herself to pass an opportunity to get out of the death camp and get her precious freedom back. The book follows her as her train, compete, but also as she discovers someone or something is killing her competitors. Okay.

I just loved the story. It reminded me of Divergent and Hunger Game with a bit of Harry Potter. It’s a perfect combination of fantasy with reality. I love her character because it’s so multifaceted. I love her background. Her interactions with other characters and with herself. She is sarcastic and will tell you things straight to your face. I’m not usually a person who loves reading in third person, but I loved this one. It felt sometimes like it was in third person which is my favorite, but it was always in third person. I love that sometimes since it was in third person they would give you like a hint of what was the other person thinking and even though I’m not 16080337usually a person who likes when they switch characters in this book I enjoyed it. It did bother me that sometimes you didn’t know whose character you were watching/reading since its in third person and I would have to reread the page once I figured out who it was just so I could completely understand. I know my review is all over the place. I’m just so excited. I promise my next one will be more organized. By the way I can say that I feel like this series will likely become one of my favorite series, but I only read one book so I’ll let you know when I’m done.

I was reading the reviews on Amazon about the book and some people were complaining about the character saying she feels flat and that it’s stupid that she’s an assassin but get excited on this like candy. I don’t agree with them and I have to rant about it.

For those who judge that the character is too girly and stuff to be an assassin. SHE IS 18 YEARS OLD! 18!!!!!!!! She didn’t have a childhood and like any other person certain people and things get certain side from you. She still has a soul and some children in her. Chaol and Dorian bring different sides of her vs Cain. She is also an assassin, but it doesn’t mean she wants to kill. *Spoiler Alert* Have you read the part when she’s happy that after serving 4 years she’ll be able to live off the money she saves and won’t have to kill for money. *Spoiler Done* Give it a break. It’s a great character and she is well rounded. She is not just an angry assassin like you wanted because then she’ll be flat.  She’s also a YOUNG GIRL, she is also someone who craves love and friendship, someone who craves some comfort, she’s proud, doesn’t know how to deal with her emotions, has anger issues, she is nice but can be deadly, she is fearless but even the most fearless can get scared. I believe she’s a well rounded character that has many facets. So don’t discourage people from reading this masterpiece just because you think the character fell flat because she wasn’t badass enough. She is more than just a badass assassin.

Okay, rant over.

And finally my rating:

 ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Just read the book. If you don’t want to risk it then get the kindle version, it’s only $2.24 and it’s worth every cent and more. You can get it here and the Spanish version here. Let me know what you think. If you have read it and if you loved it or hated it.

*personal opinion. I rather say this about his life than some other cuss words to describe him.

 

2 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Review

Responder

