My First Ever Book Haul! *USED & Ebooks*

Hallo guys! I’m back and on time this week with my first ever book haul. I love books, but as a college student whose full time job is her blog, I don’t have a lot of money. I’m also really into being as nice to the planet as possible so when it comes to books I try to buy used books. What I love about used books is that they’re cheap, and I don’t feel bad about how many trees were cut down for that book because it’s used. Also, it gives the book character and how can you say no to hard cover books for under 5$? I also love ebooks because they’re usually cheaper, they’re right there on my Kindle so I don’t have to worry about it arriving and there’s no pages in it so no hurt tree. Also with the money I got for Christmas I got a kindle and I’m in love. On Tuesday when I went to check my mail, obsessively, I got the last three books I ordered. It was like the angels were singing because after one painful month, where I would go check my mail all the time, I finally got my precious books. Also, I had been dying to do a book haul. So let’s get started.

1. ORIGIN by Jessica Khoury 

13455112.jpg

This book has been in my to buy and to read list for a couple of months and I finally gave in to temptation and go it for myself as a Christmas present. Now it’swaiting for me to read it, but it might take a while since I have so many new books.

“Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home―and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.

Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia’s origin―a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.” via Goodreads

Get it in spanish here.

2. Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid #1) by Richelle Mead

 

8400805.jpg

This book was one of the first books from my favorite author Richelle Mead and I’ve been excited for the longest time to read. I just started and I’m excited it. The only thing is that I’m disappointed that is not set up in the same world as Vampire Academy.

When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?

But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid’s life is far less exotic. At least there’s her day job at a local bookstore–free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can’t.

But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle’s demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won’t help because Georgina’s about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny. . . ” via Amazon

Get in Spanish here.

PS the Spanish version has a horrible cover that can gives nightmare. It needs a cover change ASAP.

3. Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause

51GeB5w7OeL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

 

absolutely love the movie of this book and I have been searching for this book for the longest time. I had honestly been searching for this book for around 10 years and I finally have it and I can’t wait to read it. Most books are WAY better than the movies and this movie was really good, so I’m expecting an amazing book.

“Vivian Gandillon relishes the change, the sweet, fierce ache that carries her from girl to

11230204
Can we just talk about how pretty this version is?

wolf. At sixteen, she is beautiful and strong, and all the young wolves are on her tail. But Vivian still grieves for her dead father; her pack remains leaderless and in disarray, and she feels lost in the suburbs of Maryland. She longs for a normal life. But what is normal for a werewolf?

Then Vivian falls in love with a human, a meat-boy. Aiden is kind and gentle, a welcome relief from the squabbling pack. He’s fascinated by magic, and Vivian longs to reveal herself to him. Surely he would understand her and delight in the wonder of her dual nature, not fear her as an ordinary human would.

Vivian’s divided loyalties are strained further when a brutal murder threatens to expose the pack. Moving between two worlds, she does not seem to belong in either. What is she really–human or beast? Which tastes sweeter–blood or chocolate?” via Amazon.

Get it in Spanish here.

4. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

51EWt6q24cL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

I’m going to be honest, I only got this book because of the title because the title is quite interesting. Still, I feel like to read this I should first become an expert in The Wizard of Oz. So it might have to wait a while.

“I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know? Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a road of yellow brick—but even that’s crumbling.What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas. I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I’ve been trained to fight. And I have a mission: Remove the Tin Woodman’s heart. Steal the Scarecrow’s brain. Take the Lion’s courage. And—Dorothy must die.” via amazon.

5. The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

51a1U9z6CZL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

I already read this book like 6 years ago and I also misplaced it. Since I misplaced I’ve been obsessed with getting another one so I did. I can’t wait to reread this because I remember little about this book, or any book that I have read more than 3 years ago. Of all the books, this one is one of the one I remember the most and I’m excited to see if is as good as I remember.

“My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost—and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? It’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House . . . before its skeletons come back to haunt me.”

Get it in Spanish here.

6. PS I love You by Cecelia Ahern

 

51ueOUHHn6L._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I got this book because I read Where The Rainbows End and I absolutely loved it. I also have read/heard good things about it. If this book is as good as Where The Rainbows End then I should definitely read it when I don’t have too many classes because I first read Where The Rainbow End, also known as Love, Rosie, I found myself reading in the middle of class because I couldn’t stop.

“A wonderfully warm and heartfelt debut from a stunning new talent. Everyone needs a guardian angel! Some people wait their whole lives to find their soul mates. But not Holly and Gerry. Childhood sweethearts, they could finish each other’s sentences and even when they fought, they laughed. No one could imagine Holly and Gerry without each other. Until the unthinkable happens.

Gerry’s death devastates Holly. But as her 30th birthday looms, Gerry comes back to her. He’s left her a bundle of notes, one for each of the months after his death, gently guiding Holly into her new life without him, each note signed ‘PS, I Love You’. As the notes are gradually opened, and as the year unfolds, Holly is both cheered up and challenged. The man who knows her better than anyone sets out to teach her that life goes on.

With some help from her friends, and her noisy and loving family, Holly finds herself laughing, crying, singing, dancing–and being braver than ever before. Life is for living, she realises–but it always helps if there’s an angel watching over you.” via amazon.

Get it in Spanish here.

 

The next three books I got them because they sounded interesting and were by an author very well known. His novels are read in school and college but when you force students to read a book they usually end up hating it at least I know I do. I saw these books and they caught my attention so I got them. Those books are:

7. Memorias de mis putas tristes (Memories of My Melancholy Whores ) by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

 

51LOgq0F4+L._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

 

This book I have already read so I will save the comments for the reviews that will come very soon. All I can say is that this book changed my opinion that Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s books are boring.

“On the eve of his ninetieth birthday a bachelor decides to give himself a wild night of love 41inF1N8MEL._SX284_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgwith a virgin. As is his habit–he has purchased hundreds of women–he asks a madam for her assistance. The fourteen-year-old girl who is procured for him is enchanting, but exhausted as she is from caring for siblings and her job sewing buttons, she can do little but sleep. Yet with this sleeping beauty at his side, it is he who awakens to a romance he has never known.” via amazon.

Get in Spanish here.

Another book I got was Noticia de un secuestro which I really got because it looked interesting and it was extremely cheap since I got it used at my college.

8. Noticia de un secuestro (News of a Kidnapping) by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

51gFioyZeUL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

“In 1990, fearing extradition to the United States, Pablo Escobar – head of the Medellín drug cartel – kidnapped ten notable Colombians to use as bargaining chips. With the eye of a poet, García Márquez describes the survivors’ perilous ordeal and the bizarre drama of the negotiations for their release. He also depicts the keening ache of Colombia after nearly forty years of rebel uprisings, right-wing death squads, currency collapse and narco-democracy. With cinematic intensity, breathtaking language and journalistic rigor, García Márquez evokes the sickness that inflicts his beloved country and how it penetrates every strata of society, from the lowliest peasant to the President himself.” via amazon.

Get it in Spanish here.

The last book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez I got was:

9. Del amor y otros demonios por Gabriel Garcia Marquez 

51KNBnjZYRL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book was recommended to me by a couple of people, including a classmate who only reads Young Adult. There’s nothing wrong with YA. I prefer YA, butwhen someone who only reads YA recommends a book by Gabriel Garcia Marquez then is definitely a good book.

“On her twelfth birthday, Sierva Maria – the only child of a decaying noble family in an eighteenth-century South American seaport – is bitten by a rabid dog. Believed to be possessed, she is brought to a convent for observation. And into her cell stumbles Father Cayetano Delaura, who has already dreamed about a girl with hair trailing after her like a bridal train. As he tends to her with holy water and sacramental oils, Delaura feels something shocking begin to occur. He has fallen in love – and it is not long until Sierva Maria joins him in his fevered misery. Unsettling and indelible, Of Love and Other Demons is an evocative, majestic tale of the most universal experiences known to woman and man.” via amazon.

Get in Spanish here.

10. The Girl on the Train by  Paula Hawkins

51oYEfb+0WL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

`

This book was actually a Christmas present from my best friend. I had been wanting to buy this book for a while, but I try to limit my books to cheap, used or kindle not over 4$ since I’m a college student on a budget and I like to be as ecological as possible. This one didn’t fit any of those categories so it brought me a huge happiness getting it as a gift.41EjjisfqcL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

“Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?” via amazon.

Seems interesting, right?

Get in Spanish here.

 

11. Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

41Xld-zsp8L._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

This book I bought it because it was on special for $99 for a kindle and I had heard good things and the rating was expectacular. I also have read this book therefore I will reserve my comments for the review, which is going to be posted very soon.

Would you rather know a truth that makes you feel hopeless, or keep believing the lies?
Beloved and bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with the spellbinding story of two young people with devastating pasts who embark on a passionate, intriguing journey to discover the lessons of life, love, trust—and above all, the healing power that only truth can bring. 

Sky, a senior in high school, meets Dean Holder, a guy with a promiscuous reputation that rivals her own. From their very first encounter, he terrifies and captivates her. Something about him sparks memories of her deeply troubled past, a time she’s tried so hard to bury. Though Sky is determined to stay far away from him, his unwavering pursuit and enigmatic smile break down her defenses and the intensity of the bond between them grows. But the mysterious Holder has been keeping secrets of his own, and once they are revealed, Sky is changed forever and her ability to trust may be a casualty of the truth. 

Only by courageously facing the stark revelations can Sky and Holder hope to heal their emotional scars and find a way to live and love without boundaries. Hopeless is a novel that will leave you breathless, entranced, and remembering your own first love.” via amazon

Get it in Spanish here.

 

12. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by  Becky Albertalli

51Wn53OzRPL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book I got because it seem really interesting. I had wanted the book for a while and when I saw on special at $.99 I couldn’t hold myself from getting it. 

“Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.” via amazon.

 

13. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

51spOdkyO2L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

At first I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read the book, butthen my book club decided to read it so I gave in and decided to read it. I’m glad I did because I’m currently reading it and I’m enjoying it. Also, I just found there’s a movie coming. I’m so excited guys!

“They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .51yz8wwugCL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has never been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.”

Get in Spanish here.

 

14. F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

Unknown.jpeg

The reason I got this book was simple EVERYONE WAS TALKING ABOUT IT. As you can probably notice I don’t usually follow what everyone is reading until it’s too late. I usually read the book when the hype is over. I don’t do it on purpose, it’s just I’m always so focus on college and my life that I never know what’s going on on the book world. I know, I know, shame on me. Since I keep reading and hearing how good the book was, I caved in and got the ebook. I’m so excited to see what the hype is all about. Also the cover is so pretty that I couldn’t resist.

“Helena Conway has fallen in love. 
Unwillingly. Unwittingly. 
But not unprovoked. 
Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered, 
and not even a little bit careful. 
It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend. 
Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others. 
Until she doesn’t.” via amazon.

 

15. The Assassin’s Blade: The Throne of Glass Novellas by Sarah J. Maas

51m1tcSP57L._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

If you read my blog, then you must surely know how much I loved Throne of Glass so it wouldn’t come to a surprise that I got the book of novellas that take place before the Throne of Glass. I’m excited to read it and I think I’m going to read it in little by little instead of all at once.

“Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom’s most feared assassin. Though she works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin’s Guild, Celaena yields to no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam.

When Celaena’s scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself acting independently of his wishes―and questioning her own allegiance. Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying Arobynn’s orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they hope to escape Arobynn’s clutches―and if they fail, they’ll lose not just a chance at freedom, but their lives . . .

A prequel to Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers readers a deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her enthralling―and deadly―world.

Included in this volume:
The Assassin and the Pirate Lord
The Assassin and the Healer
The Assassin and the Desert
The Assassin and the Underworld
The Assassin and the Empire”

AAAAHHH! I can’t wait to read the novellas. 

15. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas 

Going in the same direction it is also not surprise either that I got the second book in the Throne of Glass series. OH YEAH! I’ve been stopping myself from reading because I know I will want to read it all in one day but college must come first. 

51EuQmgLVrL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Look at that gorgeous cover

 

SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT!

Do not read any further if you have not read or finish Throne of Glass.

 

.        .         .

“She is the greatest assassin her world has ever known.
But does she have the heart of a killer?

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king’s contest to become the new royal assassin. But Calaena is far from loyal to the crown. Keeping up the charade – while pretending to do the king’s bidding – will test her skills in an entirely new way. And it certainly isn’t the only point of confusion for the young girl. Because though she’s made her choice between Dorian and Chaol, the ways of the heart are never simple…”

 

Get in Spanish here.

.        .         .

.        .         .   End of Spoiler Alert       .        .         .

 

 

16. Blur by Steven James

41gTQbFJ9FL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book I also got it because it seem interesting and it was a pretty good deal. It seems really interesting and it is different to the usual kind of book I read. 

“The isolated town of Beldon, Wisconsin, is shocked when a high school freshman’s body is found in Lake Algonquin. Just like everyone in the community, sixteen-year-old Daniel Byers believes that Emily Jackson’s death was accidental. But at her funeral, when he has a terrifying vision of her, his world begins to rip apart at the seams.

Convinced that Emily’s appearance was more than just a mere hallucination, Daniel begins to look carefully into her death, even as he increasingly loses the ability to distinguish fantasy from reality.

What’s real? What’s not? Where does reality end and madness begin?

As Daniel struggles to find the truth, his world begins to crumble around him as he slips further and further into his own private blurred reality.” via amazon.

 

17 . Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

41SucU4QakL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book is one of those books that you just don’t remember why you bought it, apart from the fact that it looked interesting, but I’m glad I did because it honestly looks like a really good interesting story. I got the ebook and audiobook for a really good price so I can’t complain. I actually think that’s probably one of the reasons I got because it was the day’s deal. As you can see when I got my new Kindle I got excited and bought a lot of books that were less than 4$.

“Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?

Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life. . . . She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.

Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart. . . . He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who had kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing, and his thoughts swirling.”

Well, that was all for today’s post. Which book from my haul would you read first? Which book gets your attention? Comment below.

Have an AMAZING DAY!

Love, Jane

 

Responder

