Review of Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

“It’s real, Six. You can’t get mad at a real ending. Some of them are ugly. It’s the fake happily ever afters that should piss you off.”

Colleen Hoover, Hopeless

 

Before we start the review, let’s start with some info about the book.

TITLE: Hopeless

AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover

5430144.jpg

Images via Goodreads

 

PUBLISHED ON:  December 17th 2012

AMOUNT OF PAGES: 488

Synopsis 

“Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.” via amazon.

 

HOPELESS is how I feel while I try to write this review. The truth is that even though I had waited a couple of days to write it so I could decide how I felt I still don’t know how I feel. I really want to say I loved the book and move on but it would be a lie. I don’t love the book, 18274198.jpgbut I don’t hate it.

I’m having a tough time.” Sadly this is how I felt most of the book. I wasn’t a fan of the characters for a big part of the book and I felt I was reading a Fifty Shades of Grey book and not because of the sex scene.
Let’s start with the beginning aka the first half of the book. I had a very hard time trying to read this book. It was not because it was complex or because it was on my second language, English, but because it bored me. I went to my Goodreads to read my statuses and I saw one that said: 46.0% of the book “I’m trying so hard to like this book, but I’m having a tough time.” Sadly this is how I felt most of the book. I wasn’t a fan of the characters in a big part of the book and I25573675.jpg
felt I was reading a Fifty Shades of Gray book and not because of the sex scene. The character Horder gave me so many red flags typical of an abusive person and Sky even though she was not as pathetic as Anastasia she was pretty much like her. Most of the things he did in the book would be a whole lot creepier, like stalker rapist kind of creepy if wasn’t because he was so hot and she was so into him.

Let’s talk about the end aka the second half of the book. I actually like parts of the second half and I didn’t feel like I wanted to stop reading, but I felt that the way they reacted to certain things was just not right. I don’t want to say spoilers, but some of these scenes and they way they reacted was just unrealistic and messed up. I don’t like Holder. I understood so much of the first half in this half but it was just so wrong.I felt like she was trying to write so much that it got lost and she could use that time to fix up the book and make it more realistic. I know is a fiction book, butwhen you’re trying to write a story that’s close to reality about certain topics as sensible as the 23348012.jpgone in this book I think you should try a little harder. Also Six is a great character and I feel like she should come out more in the second box and I don’t necessarilymean physically. She has a lot of potential which is why I’m excited to read Finding Cinderella which is a Novella about Six falling in love and can be read with Hopeless or as a stand alone. She gave it as a gift for free as an ebookor paying in paperback.

The story as a whole was not bad. Maybe I’m growing up and my taste is changing, but it felt like another Twilight or Evermore in the sense that it had so much potential that it went to waste but people still seem to love it with eyes closed. Again, I don’t hate the book. I actually quite like it, but with that high rating I was expecting a lot more. I would still read another Colleen Hoover book just because I heard the other books were good.

So time for rating:

liked it.

 

GET IN SPANISH HERE. 

Well, that’s everything for today.

Love, Jane

 

 

 

 

 

*images via Goodreads

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review of Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Responder

