April’s TBR

APRIL'S TBR

Sweet April showers do

spring May flowers.

                                                                    -Thomas Tusser

The time is going so fast. It is April already! Already the days are getting longer, classes are coming to an end, and my Schedule is getting tighter. In Puerto Rico classes end on May so we are a little more than a month away from the finish line, at least for this semester, and I can’t wait for it to end. I have plans for this summer I’m going to travel, I’m going to take all the summer classes I can take without making me mentally unstable, and I will read a lot.

I have plans for a summer full of BS: beaches, books, bathing suits, boats and beautiful people. Actually just my family. I also want to do a Harry Potter reading marathon. My mom has all the books in English and Spanish. I grew up with Harry Potter like I remember in 8th grade reading Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince and I also remember my mom very excited when she my dad got her Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows but even more excited when she got it in Spanish. I grew up doing HP’s movie marathon, but there’s one book I haven’t read. I haven’t read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows because is the last book and I’m not brave enough, I also haven’t seen the last two movies. I do know everything that happened my mom before going to bed, she would tell my dad the story. It was such an adorable image. Anyway, going back to the topic since I want to read all the Harry Potter books this summer and the books are very thick then I need a lot of times. I want to tackle a couple of books before summer, but I don’t have a lot of time because the end is near, of the semester, so this April I want to focus on five books. This is my April’s TBR list.

Books I want to read:

 

In the Victim’s Shadow by Victoria Schwimley. 

“On a cold San Francisco evening, Amber and Katherine Winters, a mother and daughter

51WjPt3+xHL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
can we please talk about how beautiful is the cover?

modeling team, stop at a corner store after work for some much-needed ice cream and is instead met with an action from a desperate man that will put an end to Amber’s life, and forever scar Katherine.
That desperate man is Spencer Simon, a man out of luck, with no job and no place to live. Rejected from yet another job, at that same corner market, Spencer is surprised to find himself pulling out a gun instead of the change for his cup of coffee. He is even more surprised when the cashier throws the money at him. When the gun fires, killing the beautiful model as he is trying to flee, Spencer doesn’t know what to do-except run, leaving five-year old Katherine crying over her dead mother. 
Twenty-seven years later, Katherine is all grown up, and Spencer has a son who, forced to grow up under his father’s soul-consuming guilt, is bitter over having lost his childhood. Chad focuses his hatred on Katherine, whom he blames for his problems, and devises a plan to make her suffer as much as he has. Katherine has now become a successful lawyer, with a longing in her heart for something special: a child. When Chad attempts to enter Katherine’s life, she is unimpressed and easily dismisses him. This only angers Chad more, causing him to devise another plan. Chad learns of John Wheaton, the man Katherine is in love with, and upon seeing the strength of their bond, reacts in anger over Katherine’s happiness and attacks John, leaving him for dead and Katherine facing another loss in her life. 
Meanwhile, in an attempt to appease his guilt and in some way show his son that he loves him, Spencer sits back and watches as his son become this bitter monster.” via amazon.com

The synopsis has me in tension and I can’t wait to read this story. This is the kind of story you have to be very careful when you write because it can either be a total fail or a YES YES YES story.

 

After the Thaw by Therese Heckenkamp 

51aGl8o4UGL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgSome wounds heal. Others leave scars. 
Four years ago, Charlene Perigard survived a brutal kidnapping. Now at twenty-two, she’s put that trauma behind her for a promising future with handsome firefighter Ben Jorgensen. But when new trauma strikes, a new nightmare begins. 

Sinister threats, a midnight attack, and a deathbed promise drive Charlene to the little town of Creekside, where she encounters a man from her past whom she has long struggled to forget: Clay Morrow—ex-convict and brother of her kidnapper. He’s also the man who once helped save her life. 

Despite the odds, Charlene and Clay forge a tentative friendship, unaware of a brooding, mounting danger that seeks to destroy them both. Charlene’s wounded heart must choose between her fiancé and the man whose past is more scarred than her own. But in choosing, she may just lose everything. 

Christian Romantic Suspense 

*After the Thaw is the sequel to Frozen Footprints but can be read as a stand-alone novel.* ” via amazon.com

What intrigues me more about this story is that is christian but doesn’t sound like the typical everything is the color pink or everything is bad until God came into my life. It sounds really interesting and I’m really curious.

Audiobooks I want to listen to:

Hello Fabulous!: A Funny Story About a Straight Guy Who Continually Gets Mistaken for a Gay Guy by Jason Tanamor 

“The Flamingo, the biggest openly gay event in the world, decides to move from its usual destination of Las Vegas to the lesser-known city of Moline, Illinois. The event features 51J0PRYf+tL._AA300_.jpggay musical acts, clinics, and novelties, and is coming to Moline for the first time due to tax breaks and the fact that the mayor is the uncle of the one and only fabulous host, Spencer Gayman. 

Randy Straight, a boring hetero, is continually mistaken for Gayman. This mistake begins to snowball, with the media believing that Gayman has hit the town well before the scheduled event to perhaps scout out restaurants, tour, shop, or all of the above. Straight then sees his life go from “straight and boring” to “gay and fab-you-luss” overnight. He begins to receive VIP treatment in the form of restaurant, hotel, and clothing comps. Not to mention the occasional hetero woman willing to turn Gayman straight. 

Straight’s super hetero friends, Peter Christman and Jack Dudemeister, begin to enjoy the perks of being in a celebrity entourage. They encourage Straight to play the part – 100 percent. That is until Gayman comes to town for real after hearing that his good, gay name has been tarnished by being seen in places like K-Mart. “Oh no he dih’nt!” 

Hello Fabulous! is a hilarious story about mistaken identity that results in a climax that determines the real fabulous one. Oh, and there’s a giant flamingo, too!” via amazon.com

This is my first book for the audiobook exercise challenge which I haven’t been able to start yet because I have a never ending list of things to do but I will start this book and this comment is my contract. I choose this book because it sounds hilarious, which ismy favorite thing to listen to while exercising. Also queer literature is one my favorite kind of literature. I’m so tempted to start listening, but now I must follow the challenge.

Books I want to finish:

PS I love you by Cecelia Ahern51tuqCSctuL._SX313_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg


“Holly couldn’t live without her husband Gerry, until the day she had to. They were the
kind of young couple who could finish each other’s sentences. When Gerry succumbs to a
terminal illness and dies, 30-year-old Holly is set adrift, unable to pick up the pieces. But with the help of a series of letters her husband left her before he died and a little nudging from an eccentric assortment of family and friends, she learns to laugh, overcome her fears, and discover a world she never knew existed.

The kind of enchanting novel with cross-generational appeal that comes along once in a great while, PS, I Love You is a captivating love letter to the world!”

I am currently reading this book and so much yes is going on but I won’t say until I’m done reading.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

416TWMc56dL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgIn Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life–and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?” via amazon.com

I got Carry On for free in exchange for a review, butreading I couldn’t understand and started getting bored. A friend told me that I should read Fangirl first so I could understand. So I bought the book and now I’m currently reading. In the meantime Carry On is on hold until I’m done with Fangirl.

That is it for a little window into my childhood and my April’s TBR. What is in your April’s TBR?

 LOVE, Rose

Responder

