2016’s Reading Challenge Update

blog update pic

I AM BACK! I know, I know months has passed since I last wrote a post. The reasons were many: finals, the death of family members, traveling, summer classes, and just not having time or inspiration in general but I´m back. Yes, the Harry Potter giveaway is still valid. I thought of canceling the giveaway, but I decided that is better if I do not. Invite your friends and family! I feel like the giveaway is a lovely gift for my followers for when I reach 100 followers, hopefully soon, so it is still on even though I might have to change some details.

READING CHALLENGE UPDATE

Let´s forward to what we came here for the *2016´s reading challenge update. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, click here. I have read 16 books so far. I am slightly disappointed because I haven’t been able to read more but also my Goodreads lie to me telling me I had read 18 by repeating two books. I noticed when writing this post and that made me feel slightly less motivated. Still, 16 in 6 months is around two and a half book a month and considering I’m a full-time student who’s trying to get all As I think 16 is pretty good. I know not all of them are lengthy, but the point is enjoying the book not bragging the length.

Okay. Let’s start reviewing which of the books challenges I have completed.

1) A book published on a website.2488185-176-k867232.jpg

For this one, I’m using How To Be Queen by AerithSage. This book was published on wattpad and has gotten a lot of popularity on the page, and the author recently published her first book, out of wattpad, called The Billionaire’s Contract.

Check out my review HERE.

 

 

617GpzyVeNL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg2) Listen to an audiobook instead.

I listened to a lot of audiobooks these past six months. I like listening audiobooks while reading the books or switching in between the book and the audiobooks but one book I only listened was Binge by Tyler Oakley . Yes, him as the hilarious and famous youtuber.

Check out my review HERE.

 

 

 

3) A book set somewhere you want to travel.51ueOUHHn6L._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

For this one, I had to decide between a couple but PS I love you by Cecelia Ahern won the round. I haven’t reviewed it, but 11/10 would recommend.

 

418xpeLSRrL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_4) A book set in the future.

Aren’t all dystopian novels set in the future? I choose Cinder by Melissa Meyers because why not? I’ve wanted to read this book, and this book challenge was the perfect excuse. This book lived up to its hype. 

5. A book set in the past.

51xOraJSN9L._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith. This book was recently republished under the name Carol and then later made into a movie with one of the actresses being nominated for an Oscar.

Check out my review HERE.


51vF3a1RfzL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg6. A book with an LGTBQ+ character

For this book, like in #3, I had to decide between a couple but decided to go with the most obvious. Simon vs. the Homosapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli . This is a very fluffy book that is great for reading after book hangovers.

 

 7. A book that makes you secretly ashamedcvr9781476743554_9781476743554_hr

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover. This book was my first, and I think only, Colleen Hoover’s book I have read. I am ashamed of this book and the way it doesn’t accurately represent particular topic I won’t discuss because of spoilers. I will give Colleen Hoover a second chance because I have heard she is a brilliant writer.

Check out my review HERE.

8. A book someone under 30 wrote.

55744652-176-k499428It’s hard to find a book written by someone under thirty, so I decided to go for the most obvious book. I choose Once Upon A Chat by Darlene Smith. This book was published on Wattpad. The author is 20 years old and even though compared to other books, including fanfictions, is it not that long it still deserves a space on this list. This book a fanfiction of Once Upon a Time and develop in chats that will make you laugh out loud. If you read it, comment Jane sent you. 😉

 

 

9. A book that was written by someone who is not from51PdXxxgtYL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg the United States of America.

I choose F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher because she was born and raised in Johannesburg, South Africa. This book is fantastic, full of quotable moments and words crafted so perfectly that you will be sucked in. 12/10 would recommend

 

51TotTTRSjL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg10. A nonfiction book


This book challenge was probably one of the easiest ones. This book hooked me in, open my eye to a culture that is not my own and is a topic that is getting a lot of hate: feminism. The book We Should All Be Feminist by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I sometimes wish I had the money, or just money at all, to buy these and give away to every single person who said we don’t need equality or feminism.

 

11. A book from an author from your country or island.4174gjfYU-L._SX312_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I’m from the enchanted island of Puerto Rico and for this one, I decided to use Mundo Cruel by Luis NegrónMundo Cruel by Luis Negrón. I read this book this month and had the opportunity to discuss it with the writer, which was an amazing experience, he is a very talented writer, and this book is getting attention all over the world. My favorite story, The Garden, is going to be produced as a musical, and I’m so excited!

12. A book with less than 200 pages.

511UAkig9TL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_This one is easy! The book I chose is a book I was surprised at how much I loved it. The book I choose is Memorias de mis putas tristes by Gabriel García Márquez. GGM is one of the best writers in the history of Latin-American. I remember studying him in school but when you are forced to read a book you end up detesting it and but I decided to give his book a chance. I am so happy I did because I enjoyed it.

Check out my review HERE.

 

13. A book based on a fairytale.51AB5fix3UL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas was inspired by Cinderella or so the author said. Well, I can totally see it and therefore I used it for the book challenge. It is also an excellent book by an amazing author.

Check out my review HERE.

512mzQI3YlL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg14. A romantic book

As much as I do not see this book as just a romantic book, I chose the book Me Before You by Jojo Mayes. This book is much more than a romantic book, but since what is known is the very obvious love story I decided to use it. I LOVE this book, and I’m slightly disappointed how over simplified was the movie.

Check out my review HERE.

15. A book you said you were going to412XH9UvpbL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg read for a while but hadn’t.

For this one, I choose a book I kept saying I was going to read but would always leave it for later. That book is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. RR is one of my favorite writers, and she did not disappoint with this book. It his right home.

16. A book recommended by a friend.

51AB5fix3UL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_
For the last book challenge,  I choose a book that my friend recommended to me as soon as I told her I was going to read Throne of Glass, and that is The Assasin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas. If I said, I loved Throne of Glas I was a fool. Throne of glass is poop compared to the amazing collection of novellas that is this book. I recommend it.

Well, guys, that is all of the books I have read. I hope you enjoyed this blog post. Please like, share and comment. Let me know which of the book challenges have you completed. Also, comment down below what kind of post would you love to read from me.

Have you followed me on Wattpad? I’ll be posting stories and poems there. Follow me and check out my newest short story Lilith. It’s on second person point of view and in Spanish.

HAVE AN AMAZING WEEKEND!

LOVE, JANE

*Yes, I do the picture said 2015, and it was a typo, but since it took me so long to edit the image to my taste, I decided to kep it.

 

 

Responder

