The Crowns Game by Evelyn Skye Revie | Soñando Despierta

half-moon-2

 

 

     Oi! I’m back with a review! I haven’t done a review in SO LONG. I am sorry. I’m still   struggling if you read the post where I break my hiatus (here) then you’ll know with what and I am having a hard time staying motivated. Still here I am because I am excited about this post. I have two fun facts: First is that I had planned to review The Perfect Girl, but I was so excited after just finishing the book that I knew that I had to write this one instead. The second fact I spent hours taking pictures and editing of a book that for some random reason I though was the one that belongs to this post. I thought that THAT book was this one. Yeah… I haven’t slept more than 4 hours in a while. ANYWAY, let’s get started.

“She was a diamond in a quarry full of quartz.”
― Evelyn Skye, The Crown’s Game

 

Original Title: The Crown’s Gameb16dsjc1hts-_ux250_

Author: Evelyn Skye
Amount of pages: 399 pages
Does it have a sequel? Yes, this is the first in the Crown’s Game duology
Does it have a movie: Not at the moment but I would not be surprised if we see one in the future.
Genre: Young Adult, Historical fiction, fantasy, and romance.

Sypnosis:

      “Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see 26156203-1through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

    And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

     Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

     For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip-smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.

     And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love…or be killed himself.

     As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear—the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.”

REVIEW

     I will admit the reason I got this book because it’s my favorite bookstore’s book club book of the month, that’s a mouthful, and because the cover is so freaking beautiful. The hardcover version not only has a beautiful dust cover but the book without is gorgeous. I’m in love! So beautiful that I did not want to touch because I was afraid it would get dirty and I was scared of taking the dust cover because I could lose it. I did indeed get it slightly dirty, and I did, in fact, lose the dust cover but I have hopes that it’s at my sister’s house.

     Now let’s talk book. I had a hard time starting the book because I feel like all YA are starting to sound the same. It took me ranting about it on a bookworm Facebook group and seeing I wasn’t the only one feeling this way to get myself to read more than 5 pages. I needed to read it because I thought the book club discussion was this past Wednesday and I started it on Monday. So I powered through the first 30 pages and then I was hooked. I LOVE when a book leaves me hooked. After I realized that the book club was the next week I told myself, I would slow down and really enjoy it.
This book was one of those books where you want to read it, but you also don’t want to read0572e0865dbdc8ccf8cb7ebdb43d1d20 it because you want to savor it really. I tried to, but I was already a hundred and thirty pages in and I needed answers. I stopped, but I could not stop thinking about it. I was analyzing

that book the way Professor dream we do in class. My literature professors would be so proud of me. I even TRIED to go to bed early so I would not be tempted but I could not. I ended binge reading until I finished it all in one night. Shame on me. It was incredible, though. Now I have the worse book hangover. I went to a bookstore yesterday, and I couldn’t even find a new book to read because my mind was still on The Crown’s Game and the fact that The Crown’s Fate comes out in May 2017.

     The characters were slightly different to most YA characters which are refreshing. I loved

image3.jpeg
via the internet

Nikolai’s magic and all the possibilities. I saw my childhood dream reflected on his magic and I really enjoyed reading him. I loved his humanity, his humbleness yet proudness, I enjoyed his friendship with Pasha, I enjoyed how he treated everyone else and just him in general. I also enjoyed how he did whatever was necessary to satisfy his thirst for knowledge. I could imagine it all in my head like a movie. He is such a good character.

 

     Vika is stubborn, powerful, driven, humble, human, amazing, and just a really great character. I love how unlike most YA she’s not the chosen one. In a way, she is chosen, yes as an enchantress, but the whole book is not about how she’s the chosen one. It’s not about how she is the one and has everyone fawning over her but how she must fight to be the one. The winner! This is not a spoiler it’s all in the synopsis. Her relationship with her father and Ludmila is such an interesting and beautiful one. I love her relationship with everything that surrounds her. I just loved the characters so much, and I don’t even know how to put them in words.

     I am Pasha. I am the curious Pasha, the self-conscious Pasha, the I want to travel the world and believe in things that seem impossible. I love Pasha. I don’t love him more than anyone else, but he reminds me of well me. I know I mentioned how humble all the character are but I just loved how humbled he was without forgetting his place. He is the prince, yet he is such a humble person.

     I like humble, down to earth characters. I love strong characters that know their flaws and strength. Characters that know how powerful they are but are still humble, down to earth and close to their roots. I just cannot stand overly proud, brag, snobbish characters. I have my exceptions, but I just can’t handle it. I like my characters to be like the people I surround with.

     This book is a fairly light read. It doesn’t go into real deep explanations about how their magic work, how everything works and how life is in Russia. This will not bore you to death, nor it will feed you with information about magic. It assumes you know that magic is just magic. It cannot explain you just have to believe. The book is the story; it’s pretty light in details and mostly straight to the point. I tend to like that in a book because it makes it easier for me to keep the movie in my head rolling instead of focusing too much on how it looks and missing the point.

     Honestly, I thought the book was going to be another of the same YA that are so popular but even though it share certain things it was also very different. I love that is set in Russia because it gives me a window into Russia’s history and culture. Normally I’m not into historical fiction, but this one worked. Honestly, it was just so good. I don’t even know what else to say except YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK.

     It’s sad the terrible rating it has on Goodreads which is why I don’t read Goodreads’s review. I have hope that since this book is fairly new that with time the rating will get better. I really enjoyed the book which is the most important thing, and I am surprised how good it is for a first book. It makes me motivated to write as soon as I find a story good enough. I predict this will become one of those famous books that everyone loves and that has movies, novellas, books and a big fandom. MARK MY WORDS!

     Would I recommend it? YES. 9/10 would recommend.

      Now it’s time for me to rate this treasure. This rating is hard because I loved it, but at the same time, I know there are better books. This is the struggle of rating feelings because the book is a 4 to 4.5 star, the story is a 4, but the characters are 5 and the enjoyment of the book is a solid 5. Okay let’s leave this in math’s hands or well the math I kind of remember. Okay, math don’t make me look bad. The final score is: 4.5

 

Get it here.

four-and-half-star

Love, Jane

Responder

